Sun City West Yoga Club General Membership Meeting Minutes 7 December 2024

Board Members Present: Sherry Gustafson (President); Rickey Murrell (Vice President), Susan Colvin (Treasurer), Mella Harmon (substituting for Secretary Mary Casselman). Jack Leary served as the meeting Parliamentarian.

Members Present: 72

Call to Order by President Gustafson: 12:40 PM

Welcome

President Gustafson asked for the following members to rise: Those who were new members in 2024; members for one year; five years or more; 10 years or more; and 15 years or more. Of the remaining three members, the one who had been a member the longest was awarded a prize. The winner was Trudy Lofas at 19 years. Past Board officers were also asked to stand.

Approval of the Minutes from the February 10, 2024 General Membership Meeting Motion to Approve by Dianne Heisner; Second by Jack Leary. The motion was passed unanimously.

Club Financial Report

Treasurer Colvin presented the Financial Report.

The Year 2024 in Review

President Gustafson presented the Board activities and achievements:

- Electronic voting
- By-law changes to allow for staggered Board Officer terms and an increase from \$200 to \$500 that the Treasurer may expend without membership approval
- The reduction of the number of General Membership Meetings per year from three to two, in accordance with Rec Center rules. The 2025 meetings will be held March 15 and November 8
- Two Crystal Bowls & Gong Meditation Workshops
- New class offering: Taoist Yoga
- New instructors hired: Charlie Gill, Taoist Yoga and Deb Davis, substitute instructor

The Year 2025 in Prospective

President Gustafson introduced changes coming in the new year.

- The SCW Yoga Club will celebrate its 30-year Anniversary
- Two new classes will be offered: PWR!Moves, a Parkinson-specific class to be taught by Chris Cavaletto; and Living Well Movement Class to be taught by new instructor Leann Thrapp

2025 Board Officers Election

This is a transition year for elections as the Club moves from officers serving one-year to two-year terms and elected in alternating years. To make the transition successful the President and Secretary positions elected in 2024 will have transient terms of office as the club fully converts to the newly revised by-law by December 2025. President and Secretary—one year term serving in 2025. Vice President, Treasurer, and Member-at-Large—2 year term serving in 2025/2026.

President Gustafson introduced the members of the nominating committee: Vicki Baker, chairperson; Sandie Dickson; Jennifer Hyder; Susan Colvin, Board Advisor.

Vicki Baker introduced the self-nominated candidates: Debbie Randle, Member-at-Large; Debbie Wenz, Secretary; Mary Casselman, Treasurer; Rickey Murrell, Vice President; Sherry Gustafson, President.

President Gustafson opened the floor to nominations. None were made.

Electronic online voting

President Gustafson explained the online process:

- Voting link will be emailed to subscribed members
- Voting opens at 8:00 a.m. Dec 11th
- In Person Voting at Members Services on Dec 12th
- Voting closes at 2:00 p.m. Dec 13th
- Results emailed and posted on the bulletin Board

Discussion and Conversation

President Gustafson opened the floor to discussion from the floor. A member asked if anything had been done to move the yoga club website from an external host to the Rec Club host. Jack Leary explained the Rec Club site is too limited for the Yoga Club's needs. A concern was brought up about a notification system for monitors who cannot make their assignment. President Gustafson explained this is an ongoing issue that the Board will continue to work on. There was a question about whether cardio drumming might be considered by the Yoga Club. President Gustafson explained it does not fit with yoga and will possibly go with the Fitness Club.

Prize Drawing and Closing Remarks

President Gustafson awarded the raffle prizes and thanked the members for attending the meeting. The next General Membership Meeting will be held on March 15, 2025 at 12:30 PM at the Beardsley Recreation Center.

Adjournment: Debi Bukala moved to adjourn the meeting. Debbie Wenz seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. The meeting was adjourned at 1:30 PM.